Castle Gardens

Lagan Valley

Lagan Valley has a long and illustrious history spanning nearly 400 years, which has witnessed the growth of its world famous linen industry, triumphed over not one but two fires, and emerged as one of the most economic and strategically important areas in Northern Ireland.

Castle Gardens, in the heart of Lisburn, is the most historic open space in Lisburn. It is the site of Lisburn castle, a 17th Century fortified manor house first built in the 1620's. The World War II air raid shelter, which is a rare surviving building, has recently been transformed into a bright new education centre with information displays. 

Servicing over 108,000 residents, Lagan Valley spans 174 square miles of southwest Antrim and northwest Down and stretches from Glenavy and Dundrod in the north to Dromara and Hillsborough in the south and from Drumbo in the east to Moira and Aghalee in the west.

The award of City Status to Lisburn Borough Council, in May 2002, was as a result of the Council's success in The Queen's Golden Jubilee competition.

The new city boundaries encompass not just Lisburn City Centre, but also its many towns and villages. Hillsborough has played host to many Royal Visits, as it was once Government House. Today it serves as a residence for the Secretary of state for Northern Ireland and as a magnificent setting fro visiting dignitaries.

The towns and villages across the City continue to attract visitors and shoppers from across Northern Ireland, both for its floral displays, retail excellence and sporting facilities.

With first class schools, excellent infrastructure, and a booming retail industry it is not hard to see why Lisburn has become one of the most desirable places to live in Northern Ireland.

Lagan Valley Map

Lagan Valley Map

Lagan Valley Constituencies

  • Ballinderry
  • Ballymacash
  • Ballymacbrennan
  • Ballymacross
  • Blaris
  • Colin
  • Glen
  • Derryaghy
  • Domara
  • Dromore North
  • Dromore South
  • Drumbo
  • Dummury
  • Glenavy
  • Gransha
  • Harmony Hill
  • Hilden
  • Hillhall
  • Hillsborough
  • Kilwee
  • Knockmore
  • Lagan Valley
  • Lambeg
  • Lisnagarvy
  • Maghaberry
  • Magherlave
  • Maze
  • Moira
  • Old Warren
  • Poleglass
  • Quilly
  • Seymour Hill
  • Tonagh
  • Twinbrook
  • Wallace Park